Results – Walter Morgan Trophy

Results – Walter Morgan Trophy for Monochrome Prints.

1st – Bridgend and District Camera Club
2nd – Inn Focus Group
3rd – Rhondda Camera Club

The Competition was judged by Rod Wheelans MPAGB, MFIAP, FIPE, Hon PAGB, HonSPF.

Each Club’s entry of 4 images was put up in turn and judged against 2 other sets that were already displayed. One of the three sets was eliminated and then appraised by the judge.

2017 Memorial Trophy Results & Report

A full report on the Competitions including the winning photographs from Inn Focus and Rhondda can be seen by clicking here.

Results Summary.

The Walter Morgan Memorial Trophy                
1st    Rhondda CC
2nd    Inn Focus
Best Print    Jack Frost    Jason Chapman    Swansea CC
Best Portrait    Portrait of a Photographer    Gordon Maclaren    Cardiff CC

The WPF Memorial Trophy                
1st    Inn Focus    76 marks
2nd    Gwynfa CC    75 marks
Best Print    Dark Days    Susan Plant    Port Talbot CC
Best Portrait    Rich for a Day    Ian Munro    Inn Focus

The Gwyn Morgan Memorial Trophy                
1st    Inn Focus    76 marks
2nd    Western Valley CC    73 marks
Best Print    Blue on Blue    Guy Butler-Madden    The Vale CC
Best Portrait    On the Home Front    Margot Rowlands    Gwynfa CC

Individual scores can be seen below:

The WPF Memorial Trophy  

The Gwyn Morgan Memorial Trophy  

Please note, the Water Morgan Trophy did not involve scores.

2016 Memorial Trophy Results

Thanks to Rob Beynon of Gwynfa for this information.

Another successful day out for Gwynfa, this time at the WPF Memorial trophy in Kidwelly. They finished joint 1st with Tenby (72 points) but Gwynfa won the trophy due to two 20’s being scored.

‘Brown Eyed Girl’ by Margot Rowlands of Gwynfa won the trophy for Best Colour Print. The trophy for Best Monochrome Print was won by Brian Merry of the Rhondda for ‘Be Very Afraid’.


Final Scores for all prints

Great hospitality from Kidwelly camera club made for an entertaining day with some outstanding prints being shown from 24 clubs. The competition was expertly judged by Leo Rich ARPS, DPAGB, EFIAP/g, APAGB.

2014 Memorial won by Inn Focus

From Martin Nagle of the Rhondda CC.

24 Clubs took part in the 2014 Memorial Trophy Competition, hosted by the Rhondda Camera Club on Sunday 26th January. A very entertaining Apppraisal was given by the judge, Tony Dudley from Smethwick Photographic Society. His comments showed a very astute knowledge of technique and composition, and were delivered with much humour.

Thanks to Leanne Wood AM (Leader of Plaid Cymru the Party of Wales) for opening the event and giving some inspiring remarks about the people and landscapes of Wales.

Congratulations to Inn Focus who won against some very high quality competition. Cardiff came second, and Cwmbran, Ebbw Vale and The Vale Clubs tied for third place. All 24 Clubs who entered were winners in this Competition though. It would be no Competition without the participation of so many Clubs.

The Rhondda Camera Club are proud to have been able to organise this Competition, and thank the large number of people who braved some atrocious weather to attend on the day, and to the WPF President Jan Cawley for presenting the Trophy to thw winning Club.

The top five finished as follows:

Inn Focus                            1st                           74
Cardiff                                2nd                          72
Cwmbran                            3rd                           71
Ebbw Vale                           3rd                           71
Vale                                    3rd                           71

A full scoresheet can be viewed here. Thanks to Roy Thomas for the information.

Tenby grab the 2013 Memorial

Tenby (with 72 points) narrowly won the Memorial Trophy competition from Bridgend, Inn Focus and Cardiff in joint second place on 71 points. The judge for the day was Ken Holland ARPS, DPAGB of Teignmouth who marked widely from 6 to 20. Unluckiest club of the day were undoubtedly Cardiff who had three 20s and an 11.

Best monochrome print went to Bucholic Blush by Alan Jenkinson of Bridgend and best colour print went to Lindisfarne Boat Hut by Dave Russell of Cardiff. The event was hosted by Llanelli Photographic Club. Full scores here: MEMORIAL TROPHY 2013

2012 Memorial Trophy – Congratulations to Inn Focus

Well done to Inn Focus for winning the 2012 Memorial Trophy. Here are the full results. Many thanks to Llanelli Photographic Society for doing such a great job of hosting the event. The venue was excellent and the event was very well organised. The judge was Nick Scott FRPS, MPAGB, AFIAP who was ably assisted (and sometimes hurried along ) by his partner, Vanessa Vanessa Slawson FRPS. Thanks also go to David Paskin, Hon. Secretary WPF, Roy Thomas, WPF and especially to Les Loosemore for arranging the event. Pat Reynolds presented the Trophy to Inn Focus.

Memorial Trophy 2011 – Full Report

For the first time, Tenby Camera Club was delighted to host the Welsh Photgraphic Federation’s Memorial Trophy, at the Regency Hall in Saundersfoot. This WPF Photographic Competition, between 18 different Welsh Camera Clubs, was judged by Roger Parry ARPS, Hon. PAGB, AFIAP. He had travelled down from Birmingham for the day, to carry out the judging. Club members from clubs all over South Wales, over 100 in total, gathered in Saundersfoot, and each club entered 4 Prints in the competition. Clubs from as far apart as Llanelli, Crosskeys (Western Valley), Cardiff and Ebbw Vale took part.

Continue reading “Memorial Trophy 2011 – Full Report”

Memorial Trophy 2010 Results

This year’s competition certainly went to the wire with the top five clubs separated by just four points. Thanks go to Crai Camera Club for ably hosting an excellent competition.

01 Griff - Swansea
01 Griff - Swansea

To read a report of the event click here
See the gallery from the top five clubs

Well done Tenby C. C. for volunteering to act as hosts for next year’s event.