W.I.P.I.S. Acceptances & Awards 2010

There were over 15,500 photographs entered in the 2010 Welsh Interntional Projected Images Salon with just over 3241 being accepted, 248 of them from members of W.P.F. clubs.

Congratulations if you were one of the successful entrants as standards were very high and a lot of extremely good photographs narrowly missed out. So if you didn’t get an acceptance, don’t be discouraged. Try again next year.

A rolling slideshow of all the Winning & Commended photographs can be seen below as can a full lists of acceptances and awards. (Click on “continue reading” below).

Continue reading “W.I.P.I.S. Acceptances & Awards 2010”

Memorial Trophy 2011 – Full Report

For the first time, Tenby Camera Club was delighted to host the Welsh Photgraphic Federation’s Memorial Trophy, at the Regency Hall in Saundersfoot. This WPF Photographic Competition, between 18 different Welsh Camera Clubs, was judged by Roger Parry ARPS, Hon. PAGB, AFIAP. He had travelled down from Birmingham for the day, to carry out the judging. Club members from clubs all over South Wales, over 100 in total, gathered in Saundersfoot, and each club entered 4 Prints in the competition. Clubs from as far apart as Llanelli, Crosskeys (Western Valley), Cardiff and Ebbw Vale took part.

Continue reading “Memorial Trophy 2011 – Full Report”

2011 FIAP Awards for 15 WPF Photographers

We are very pleased to be able to announce that all the 2010 FIAP Distinction application results have been received and many congratulations go to the following members;

Those who have achieved their EFIAP are:- Robert Lloyd, Jill Baxter, Andrew Baxter, Phillip Davies and Jan Cawley.

Those who have achieved their AFIAP are:- Graham Davies, Dennis Russ, Haydn Thomas, Martyn Pinches, Leigh Woolford, Alan Shepherd, Tim Knifton, Gary Shinner, Karl Mullen & David Edwardes.

Well done to everyone. Also thanks to Jan Cawley for taking care of the applications and for being the bearer of such good tidings.

Congratulations to Jenny Hibbert MPAGB

Stonechat Amidst Autumn Ferns

Jenny Hibbert of Bridgend & Disctrict Camera Club has been awarded her MPAGB.

Jenny is the first photographer from the Welsh Photographic Federation to achieve this extremely prestigious award. Jenny said “it was nail biting and I was over the moon when I actually got it”.

The MPAGB (Master) is the top PAGB distinction and requires twenty pictures of international exhibition standard. You can see Jenny`s successful Panel HERE.

Cardiff Wins 2010 Stanley Chell

Cardiff Camera Club (19 points) won the 29th Stanley Chell Trophy with Ebbw Vale (18 points) second and Inn Focus (17 points) third. A further nine clubs tied for fourth place on 16 points. Best Monochrome photograph was ‘The Gate Keeper‘ (Cardiff). Best Colour photograph was ‘Sorry, No Fuel Today‘ (Port Talbot) and Best Landscape was ‘Dryslwyn Castle’ (Llanelli). A further 17 photographs scored the top mark of five. The judge, John Gould FRPS, changed the traditional ‘out of 20’ scoring system by marking from three to five.