2023 Memorial Trophies Competitions

We are pleased to announce that the 2023 Memorial Day competitions will be hosted by New Quay CC and will be held at the Memorial Hall, Towyn Road, New Quay, Ceredigion, SA45 9QQ on 22nd January 2023. The closing date for entries will be 8th January 2023 and there will be a £ 10 per club entry fee.

Please notify Roy Thomas, before December 18th, to let him know if you intend to take part, or not. (Roy17@btinternet.com)

Below you can find information, conditions of entry and entry forms.

Memorial Day Rules Issue A 2019
Memorial Colour Print Entry Form Excel PDF
Memorial Mono Print Entry Form Excel PDF
Memorial PDIs Entry Form Excel PDF

Roy Thomas

Results from the 2022 Memorial Trophies

Sunday was a great show of Welsh photography, the range and quality shown was quite remarkable – 21 Clubs took part and up to 80 members attended the Zoom Event; we never had that response pre-COVID. I see great hopes for the future once this pandemic is put to bed.

My special thanks must go to our outstanding Judge Leo Rich who spent the afternoon commenting on 168 images without missing a beat and those comments were always positive and detailed – quite a “Tour de Force” – thanks a bunch Leo I’m sure everyone enjoyed the afternoon listening to you whilst viewing the images – Brilliant!

The Gwyn Morgan Trophy for Mono PDIs was won by Tenby CC who will receive the Trophy. There were also 3 Ribbons awarded to images scoring 20: –
Tenby CC Dave Bolton Face to Face 20
Baglan Bay CC Marian Dixon The Flying Wing 20
Abertawe CC Jeff Driscoll Mermaid 20

The Walter Morgan Trophy for Colour PDIs was won jointly by Gwynfa CC & Rhondda CC both of whom will receive a Trophy! There were also 8 Ribbons awarded to images scoring 20: –
Gwynfa CC Gwynfryn Jones Beauty in the Catacombs 20
Rhondda CC David Norton Still Raining 20
Rhondda CC Brian Merry I Nailed It 20
Gwynfa CC Glenn Porter Freestyle Kayaking 20
Bridgend CC David Hopes Safe Landing 20
Cardigan PC Dyfed James Four Spotted Chaser 20
Cwmbran CC Dave Kitson Oystercatchers Mating 20
Rhondda CC Mal Durbin F15 at Dusk 20

Here are the detailed results for your delectation!

The Gwyn Morgan Trophy Results
The Walter Morgan Trophy Results

My personal congratulations to all who took part and to those winning Clubs and those who had Ribbons for their images. Well Done!!

Now onward and upward to the Ace of Clubs competition. The closing date is the 30th January with judging on the 20th January. Entries are already coming in and I look forward to another big Event!

Roy Thomas / Roy17@btinternet.com

2021 Memorial Trophy Results

Please find attached the various reports of the Covid 19 Memorial Trophy competition which were judged this afternoon by Eddy Lane ARPS DPAGB EFIAP who did a great job!

Congratulations go to Bridgend & District CC for winning the mono event and Baglan Bay PS for winning the colour event – well done! Also, congratulations to those who won the individual awards (see below).

Colour Trophy

  1. Baglan Bay (78 points)
  2. Gwynfa (77 points)
  3. RPC (76 points)

Best colour image: “Look mean boys, he’s got a camera..” by Carl Jones, RPC

Mono Trophy

  1. Bridgend (77 points)
  2. Gwynfa (75 points)
  3. Cardiff, Gwent, RPC & Tenby & (all on 73 points)

Best mono image: “In Reflective Thought” by David Hopes of Bridgend & District CC

All scoresheets below:

Covid 19 Memorial Colour Trophy Results
Covid 19 Memorial Colour Trophy (Spreadsheet)
Covid 19 Memorial Colour Trophy Results Detail

Covid-19 Memorial Mono Trophy Results
Covid-19 Memorial Mono Trophy (Spreadsheet)
Covid-19 Memorial Mono Trophy Results Detail

Amended Result from the WFP Memorial Trophy

The 2018 WPF Memorial Trophy for Colour Prints.

1st – Inn Focus Group
2nd – Gwynfa

Scores here.

Judges: Rod Wheelans MPAGB MFIAP FIPF HonPAGB HonSPF and Anne Greiner MPAGB.

Revised result – Tenby and District Camera Club have informed the Executive that one of the images they entered in the Memorial Trophy had been accepted in last year’s Welsh Salon and was therefore not eligible for the Memorial Trophy. Tenby won the competition and notified us of this error a few days later stating they wished to withdraw the image from the Competition. Consequently, Inn Focus, originally second, are now the winners of the WPF Memorial Trophy 2018 and all other clubs move up one place.

The WPF Executive thank Tenby and District Camera Club for bringing this genuine error to our attention. The Executive will revise the rules for future competitions to try to ensure that this mistake doesn’t occur again.

Results from the Gwyn Morgan Trophy

The Gwyn Morgan Trophy for Open PDI’s

1st – Tenby and District Camera Club
2nd – Inn Focus Group
3rd – Cwmbran

Scores here.

Judges: Gordon Jenkins APAGB. President of the PAGB and Richard Speirs DPAGB, APAGB.

Results – Walter Morgan Trophy

Results – Walter Morgan Trophy for Monochrome Prints.

1st – Bridgend and District Camera Club
2nd – Inn Focus Group
3rd – Rhondda Camera Club

The Competition was judged by Rod Wheelans MPAGB, MFIAP, FIPE, Hon PAGB, HonSPF.

Each Club’s entry of 4 images was put up in turn and judged against 2 other sets that were already displayed. One of the three sets was eliminated and then appraised by the judge.

2017 Memorial Trophy Results & Report

A full report on the Competitions including the winning photographs from Inn Focus and Rhondda can be seen by clicking here.

Results Summary.

The Walter Morgan Memorial Trophy                
1st    Rhondda CC
2nd    Inn Focus
Best Print    Jack Frost    Jason Chapman    Swansea CC
Best Portrait    Portrait of a Photographer    Gordon Maclaren    Cardiff CC

The WPF Memorial Trophy                
1st    Inn Focus    76 marks
2nd    Gwynfa CC    75 marks
Best Print    Dark Days    Susan Plant    Port Talbot CC
Best Portrait    Rich for a Day    Ian Munro    Inn Focus

The Gwyn Morgan Memorial Trophy                
1st    Inn Focus    76 marks
2nd    Western Valley CC    73 marks
Best Print    Blue on Blue    Guy Butler-Madden    The Vale CC
Best Portrait    On the Home Front    Margot Rowlands    Gwynfa CC

Individual scores can be seen below:

The WPF Memorial Trophy  

The Gwyn Morgan Memorial Trophy  

Please note, the Water Morgan Trophy did not involve scores.

2016 Memorial Trophy Results

Thanks to Rob Beynon of Gwynfa for this information.

Another successful day out for Gwynfa, this time at the WPF Memorial trophy in Kidwelly. They finished joint 1st with Tenby (72 points) but Gwynfa won the trophy due to two 20’s being scored.

‘Brown Eyed Girl’ by Margot Rowlands of Gwynfa won the trophy for Best Colour Print. The trophy for Best Monochrome Print was won by Brian Merry of the Rhondda for ‘Be Very Afraid’.


Final Scores for all prints

Great hospitality from Kidwelly camera club made for an entertaining day with some outstanding prints being shown from 24 clubs. The competition was expertly judged by Leo Rich ARPS, DPAGB, EFIAP/g, APAGB.